RobAdachi

The journey of a thousand miles . . .

In Training on January 11, 2012 at 5:30 am

I believe you can do anything if you put your mind to it. I believe that you can push the envelope of human physiology as an experiment of one. I believe in the 10% rule. The rules states that you shouldn’t increase your weekly mileage by more than 10%. The rule has also been used in terms of stretching the limits of your long run. I believe in the 10% rule but I also believe the limits can be stretched beyond 10%.
I’ve been a runner for 28 years now. I’ve had injuries that were both chronic and acute. I have done some dumb things in training. This may be the dumbest thing I am embarking on or it could prove to be of great benefit.
I am stretching the 10% rule. I am stretching it to about 50%. I have run the past 2 months averaging about 3 to 4 runs a week. My weekly volume has been about 20 miles. Last week I ran 32 miles. I’m not completely stupid, I plan to only run 35 this week and 40 the week after.
So far the feet are a little sore and the ankles a little achy but other than that I am good to go.

Leave a Reply

