RobAdachi

Thought of the Day: Resolutions vs Goals

In Training on January 2, 2012 at 7:01 am

In 2012:
I am going to run more
I am going to lose weight
I am going to do more core work

These are resolutions, crappy resolutions. I think resolutions in general are crappy because they are soft, immeasurable and lack vision! I’m tired of hearing people say I’m going to run a 5k this year. Most of the time I will politely smile and say good for you and then switch topics. I feel that if I say ‘Which one?’ I would be calling him out. But I’m going to do it! I’m going to call someone out! This is my perceived dialogue.

Person: “I’m going to run a 5k this year!”
Me: “Good for you! Which one? Have you got a plan? I could help you! We could run together or I could be your accountability sponsor! This will be so cool! Let’s start right now!”

Maybe that’s what people want? Maybe they mention this in the hopes that I will, in fact call them out on it?

My wife has always accused me of being socially inept, that I don’t pick up on cues that people are trying to give me. This is partially true. I actually get the cues I just don’t act on them or don’t respond to them. Maybe it’s because I’m scared of coming on to strong, scaring people off. At times I forget what it’s like to run a mile for the very first time.

Or maybe I just see a resolution as passing thought, something ‘cool’ to say at the water cooler. Resolutions do not work! You have to have a dream. Make a goal, make it measurable, develop a plan, consult with somebody who knows how (I really don’t want to use the word expert), set a timeline and then get your ass out the door! No more of this resolution crap. Get it done! Make the dream a reality.

Leave a Reply

