RobAdachi

Etch a Sketch Run

In Dogs, Etch a Sketch on December 11, 2011 at 4:03 pm

Some times you just want to have fun. No purpose, no set mileage just get out there.  Today was step back to my childhood days.  do you remember Etch a Sketch? That red tablet with the grey screen and the two knobs that I could never in my life do anything but squares and lines.

Today was my Etch a Sketch inspired run. So many times I have uploaded my Garmin data and said “Hey that looks like a dog or a cat or a rhinoceros!” So with that in mind I set out to “draw” a dog using the streets as my canvas.

I had the tail and two sets of legs done when my dog, my real dog Koda was still feeling good.  Typically on runs greater than 2 miles he starts to pull back. And typically be ever so mindful of his increasing age and aging hips I head for home.  But the last few runs I had a bit of an epiphany.  I started to not go into the trails and the big park where we run 99% of the time.  The park is pitch black and we have to run about a mile by headlamp alone.  The exit on the other side isn’t much brighter.  For the longest time I thought Koda had reached the end of his physical limits and he wanted to go home.  It never occurred to me that he didn’t like the darkness.

So the other day I decided to change it up a little and I turned around at the edge of the park. We headed back into the streets where there are lots of lights and traffic (You can’t have it all!). At the 3 mile mark the dog still had spring in his step.  Hmmm?  On the next run I stuck to the streets and went a little further, same result.

On todays run, Etch a Sketch in mind I did the tail and the legs and was at the 3 mile mark thinking about home.  Koda showed no signs of anxiety or hesitation so we went out a little further.  My Etch a Sketch dog looks a little long in the snout but my real dog is all smiles(If you believe dogs can smile-I do!) after 5 1/2 miles.  I’ll try some more Etch a Sketching another day.  Thanks for reading

Leave a Reply

